In Utah the legislature has set up a system to try and improve driving in Utah by having the Drivers License Division issue points to a persons license for certain traffic violations. Based on how many points a person has they could have their license suspended or revoked for three months to a year. Most points come from speeding tickets which can add 35 to 75 points to a persons drivers license. The most points however come from a reckless driving charge, which a person is guilty of if they operate a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property or while committing three or more moving violations within a three mile period.
Reckless Driving in Utah
In Utah a charge of reckless driving is a class B misdemeanor and along with the drivers license penalties that can be imposed a class B misdemeanor can carry a maximum penalty of 6 months imprisonment and a $1,000 fine. Even though this charge can carry serious penalties it is often a good option to reduce a DUI charge to a reckless driving if that’s an option with the prosecutor, because it carries less enhanceability consequences.
Drivers License and Reckless Driving Lawyer in Northern Utah
If you have been charged with reckless driving or a DUI in Northern Utah then it is important that you have an attorney that doesn’t only understand the legal proceedings but also the other administrative problems you may have because of the charges you are facing like having your drivers licenses suspended. At Ogden Criminal Defense Lawyer we make sure that our clients understand every aspect of each outcome that is available to them and we help them make decisions that will have serious impact on their future. If you’d like to know more about how we can help you in your case call or email us today for a free consultation.