No Insurance Defense
Utah laws require that all drivers on the road have car insurance for their vehicles. In the code section that describes the offense of driving without insurance there are two different ways you can be convicted of this crime. The first is if you are the owner of the vehicle and you either drive your vehicle or allow it to be driven on the highways of the state without insurance. The important thing about this definition of driving without insurance is it requires no knowledge or intent by the owner, regardless of whether or not you know your insurance is expired or otherwise not effective you can be convicted of this offense. The second way a person can be convicted of driving without insurance is if operate a vehicle on the highway knowing that the owner does not have insurance on the vehicle. Under this definition the driver does need to know that there is no insurance on the vehicle, but because of the first definition this definition really only applies to third parties who are driving a vehicle they are not the owner of.
No Insurance Penalties
If a person is convicted of driving without insurance they receive a class B misdemeanor and the statute actually sets out minimum amounts for the fine to be imposed. Normally under a class B misdemeanor the judge is only restricted by the maximum for a class B which is 6 months incarceration and $1,000 fine and there is technically no minimum. However, under driving without insurance the minimum fine is $400 dollars for a first offense and $1,000 for subsequent offenses within 3 years of one another. The legislature has tried to soften the bite of this statute to some extent by allowing convicted parties to show that they have since obtained insurance on their vehicle after which the court will knock $300 off their fine.
Northern Utah Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with driving without insurance then you may be facing serious criminal penalties with little wiggle room for getting out of a conviction. By hiring an attorney you can defend your rights and obtain the best outcome available. Our lawyers are waiting to take your call and will be your advocate before the court. Once you retain us we will make sure we do everything in our power to get the charges against you dropped or reduced. Call 801.823.1200 today to set up a free consultation