Northern Utah Criminal Defense Attorney
In Utah reckless driving is a traffic crime that can be proven in two different ways. The first definition of reckless driving is willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others. This is decided under a subjective standard meaning there are no specific factors that constitute disregard but instead the judge or jury will make a decision as to whether or not they think you were acting with willful or wanton disregard. This obviously leaves a lot of discretion to the judge or jury and as such it is tough to know whether or not certain actions will be found to constitute reckless driving or not. The second definition of reckless driving is three traffic violations within a 3 mile range of continuous driving. This is obviously a more objective and fixed definition of reckless driving and the court will only be considering whether or not there were in fact three violations in the allotted time and space.
Criminal Penalties of Reckless Driving
Whether or not you were driving with wanton disregard or you violated three traffic laws, the result of a conviction of reckless driving is a class B misdemeanor. A class B misdemeanor charge is similar to a first DUI and can involve penalties of up to a $1,000 fine and 6 months incarceration. Along with the penalties that go along with a class B misdemeanor a conviction of reckless driving could also include suspension of your driver’s license.
If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in Northern Utah then you need the help of our attorneys. With the fines and jail time at stake you can’t risk just rolling the dice on what the court is going to do, you need to be proactive in you defense. By calling us you will be getting in touch with experienced trial attorneys that are committed to protecting the rights of their clients. With a free consultation you can get the answer you need without having to pay for it. Call 801.823.1200 or email us today to set up an appointment.