Lewdness may be one of the most confusing and amorphous legal topics currently on the Utah books. Even with its loose definition and all inclusive nature it is an often cited offense and with the help of an attorney there are usually plea deals to be had. A person may be found guilty of lewdness for committing a number of difference actions in public or under circumstances in which the individual should know that the action will cause affront or alarm to others. The most common action that will constitute lewdness is exposing ones self in public. Going along with that actions of sexual intercourse or sexual gratification will also be considered lewdness if done in a public place. Finally the most difficult portion of the statute to understand is that it defines an action that could constitute lewdness as “any other act of lewdness.” Another thing to note is that lewdness involves actions performed in the view of individuals over the age of 14 so its not a child sexual abuse offense.
Penalties for Violating Utah’s Lewdness Law
Under Utah law lewdness could be charged as a class B misdemeanor or a third degree felony based on the circumstances. If its a class B then the maximum sentence is 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine. If its a third degree felony then the possible sentence is zero to five years in prison and up to a $5,000 fine. The difference in the charge depends on prior convictions and the individuals possible status as a registered sex offender. To find out more call Ogden Criminal Defense today.
Ogden Sex Crimes Attorney | Lewdness Defense in Northern Utah
If you have been charged with lewdness or any other sex crime in Utah then call Ogden Criminal Defense today to find out what we can do for you. At Ogden Criminal Defense we service all of Northern Utah including Kaysville, Layton, Farmington and Logan, so contact us right away to see how our experience criminal defense attorneys can help defend you in this difficult time of your life.