In Utah, the legislature has put it in the code that individuals under 21 are not allowed to have even a drop of alcohol in their system. This zero tolerance policy means that the juvenile can be facing a DUI even with a BAC below the statutory allowed level for adults. Furthermore, Utah code is very strict on DUIs and is one of the toughest states in the nation in punishing drunk driving offenders. So it is very wise to drive responsibly especially if you are a minor, however, we all make stupid mistakes and if you have made such a mistake then be sure to make the right decision now and hire an attorney from Ogden Criminal Defense.
Utah Laws and Penalties for Underage DUI
The most difficult aspect of an underage DUI is the driver’s license consequences that are imposed as a result. For individuals under the age of 21 there is an automatic drivers license suspension. This suspension is either 120 days or until the individuals turns 21, whichever is longer. So while this suspension may be manageable if the person is almost 21 and only has to wait 120 days it can also be extremely harsh if the individual has just turned 18 and will have to wait the full three years.
Weber Drunk Driving Attorney | Juvenile DUI Charges
At Ogden Criminal Defense our attorneys are dedicated to protecting our clients from the governments overbearing hand. We work tirelessly to make sure our clients rights are protected and that the police, prosecutor, and court don’t overstep their bounds and go beyond their authority. If your son or daughter is facing an underage DUI charge then make sure you call Ogden Criminal Defense today to help protect you from the harsh penalties your child could be facing.