If you are charged with a DUI in Ogden Utah, you need to understand what your potential penalties could be if you are convicted and sentenced. The DUI laws in Utah are very harsh compared to some other states and carry the possibility of long term consequences. For this reason it is very important to speak with an Ogden DUI Lawyer as soon as possible after a charge.
Jail Time for DUI
In Utah there is a risk of jail time for being charged with a DUI, even if it is your first offense. The Utah DUI Sentencing Matrix calls for a minimum of 48 hours of jail time, 48 hours of community service, or electronic home confinement for a first time DUI. For second DUI offense in Utah the jail time is increased to 240 hours or the equivalent in community service, or home confinement. Once you are charged with a third DUI in Utah, typically a felony count, your looking at the possibility of 62.5 days in jail at a minimum, worst case your looking at 0-5 years in jail. However, even on a third offense, there is there is the possibility of home confinement.
Besides the risk of jail time. You will likely face a number of other penalties if convicted of a DUI. These penalties include fines that can range from $700.00 to $1,500.00 or even more in some cases. An ignition interlock when your BAC level was above a certain amount. An alcohol and drug assessment, counseling, and having to take the Prime for Life class. Then of course there is always a risk you will have your license suspended for a period of time.
Ogden Utah DUI Attorney
Don’t take the risk of going into court and just hoping for the best. Let us represent you to explore all options of getting your case resolved in the best possible way, with the least amount of penalty to you. Speak with an Ogden Utah DUI Attorney in our office today to get a free consultation and review of the facts of your case.