One of the more specific violent crimes in Utah is called harassment. This crime is very similar to assault but is much more specific and requires additional elements. For a person to be convicted of harassment the prosecutor must show that the defendant threatened another person with a violent felony with the intent to frighten. Furthermore the prosecutor must show that this threat was communicated in writing or was recorded. The common scenario where harassment takes place is in domestic relationships where one person leaves a voice mail on the other person’s phone making threats due to their relationship problems.
Utah’s Harassment Law and Penalties
If you are being charged with harassment in Northern Utah then you can be sure that the prosecutor must have some pretty incriminating evidence against you, and you need to take the charges very seriously. In Utah harassment is a class B misdemeanor meaning that if you are convicted you could be sentenced with up to 6 months in jail and face a fine of up to $1,000. Plus because harassment is considered a violent crime most prosecutors will be slow to offer a good deal, and will likely prosecute the offense very aggressively.
Northern Utah Criminal Defense Attorney | Ogden Harassment Defense
If you or a loved one has been charged with harassment in Northern Utah then call the lawyers at Ogden Criminal Defense today. We can help you understand the charges and the possible outcomes. We work in all Northern Utah Courts, including Ogden, Farmington, Bountiful, Brigham City, and Logan; so we know the judges and prosecutors and we know how to get you the best outcome available. Facing criminal charges can be a very anxious and stressful time, with an attorney from Ogden Criminal Defense by your side, you can rest assured that your rights are being fought for and you can also have more certainty as to what your future may hold.